Understanding Power Transmission Financing

Book Sprints just continues to astonish me. New book just completed by Book Sprints… https://www.booksprints.net/book/understanding-power-transmission-financing/

In the words of author Kaushik Ray:

Electrifying sub-Saharan Africa is one of the surest methods to lift millions out of poverty and encourage long-term and sustainable development. With this in mind, we have written a practical and considered guide as to how transmission infrastructure can be financed, particularly where cash-strapped governments may be unable or unwilling to incur additional public debt to do so. The handbook will be out very soon and will be free to read.

1618841426310

Major new Editoria release

A pretty big one..

So…the major stuff here is really the new architecture, which makes this app very scalable and improves stability. In addition the new Wax editor (wax 2) is in place.

Editoria in the past has had stability issues due to the editor. It has been a real bummer. We put our money (literally) on the Substance.io framework but unfortunately that project made some strange decisions and 2 years ago we realised we had to decide whether to stick with it, fork it, or start again. We made the decision, which felt so stressful at the time, to start again and build the editor from the ground up with the ProseMirror framework.

Nobody wants to make those decisions but the Substance project was really a mess and we had to do something. Taking on a rebuild on a new framework felt like a giant, but necessary, step backwards so that we could, eventually, go forwards.

And here we are… 2 years later. We wired in the new editor in Dec and fixed a lot of stuff in the integration and now it is amazing. We don’t suffer the same freezes we did with the substance version, and we also have now added math and table support which were extremely difficult to do in the first version of Wax.

Finally, Editora has the editor it has always needed. Its been quite a journey….

The new Wax is extensible, stable, responsive…. we did the hard work to make it the web-based word processor publishers need. A website coming soon… but for now HURRAH!

Second Community call for Editoria

to catch up on recent developments:

The dates are as follows:
Amsterdam, Netherlands    Tue, 4 May 2021 at 10:00 p.m. CEST
Auckland, New Zealand     Wed, 5 May 2021 at 8:00 a.m. NZST
Berlin, Germany           Tue, 4 May 2021 at 10:00 p.m. CEST
Boston, USA               Tue, 4 May 2021 at 4:00 p.m. EDT
Chennai, India            Wed, 5 May 2021 at 1:30 a.m. IST
Chicago, USA              Tue, 4 May 2021 at 3:00 p.m. CDT
London, United Kingdom    Tue, 4 May 2021 at 9:00 p.m. BST
Minneapolis, USA          Tue, 4 May 2021 at 3:00 p.m. CDT
New York, USA             Tue, 4 May 2021 at 4:00 p.m. EDT
Paris, France             Tue, 4 May 2021 at 10:00 p.m. CEST
Santa Barbara, USA        Tue, 4 May 2021 at 1:00 p.m. PDT
Tirana, Albania           Tue, 4 May 2021 at 10:00 p.m. CEST

Also available here
https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html?iso=20210504T200000&p1=16&p2=22&p3=37&p4=43&p5=553&p6=64&p7=136&p8=159&p9=179&p10=195&p11=1050&p12=284

We will use the 8×8 browser video chat:
https://8×8.vc/coko/editoria